StoreEver Tape Storage
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error 4030 while running Data Protector Express

Highlighted

Error 4030 while running Data Protector Express

Hi, I am new to the tape drive deal and currently experiencing some nasty 4030 error everytime I try to back up data. I am using 32 bit HP GL4 series server, that has 2 SCSI's built in. I ran HP StorageWorks Library and Tape tools utility and the hardware passed all of the tests, such as performance, integrity, etc. I also managed to check the device manager to see if I find anything unusual. The drivers appear to be fine, and I didnt see any yellow question marks. The HP server runs windows 2003 for Small Business and has planty of storage space as well as memory space. In addition to that this server has one USB hard drive hooked up to it, and it has 2 internal CD/DVD roms. The 4030 error came up after 2% of backup was completed. I tried restarting the Data Protector Service as well as dpwinsvc service. I also tried restarting the service. I am not gettin anywhere further. Does anyone have any suggestions?
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Re: Error 4030 while running Data Protector Express

Error 4030 means that the backup device received an illegal or unexpected SCSI command.

You didn't say what device you were trying to write to. If it is SCSI, try connecting to the other SCSI connector.

It would also be helpful to know what OS you are running and what version of Data Protector Express you are running.

DL
Highlighted