New Discussion юеВ

Re: Tape library

SOLVED
Go to solution
Alaa_Adnan
Occasional Advisor

Tape library

Hi,
We're about to install an msl4048 tape library and I have a question: do I need any form of software app. on windows server to perform read/write to the tapes ?? I'm new to this and very little youtube vedios and documentation are available.
10 REPLIES 10
Rajat Bhargava
HPE Pro

Hello Alaa,

Thank you for choosing HPE.

To perform backups to the tape ibrary you would need a software which is aware of tape libraries.

Data Protector is one of the several softwares which is aware of Tape Libraries and you can schedule backups based upon your needs.

Since this is a new purchase, you should have an active warranty and you could call our support centers anytime to know more about functionalities of the library and backups.

To help you out this is the link for user guide of the library:

https://support.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?docId=emr_na-c04006690

The Data Protector tech sheet is here:

https://software.microfocus.com/en-us/products/data-protector-backup-recovery-software/overview

Regards
Rajat_B
I am an HPE Employee
Alaa_Adnan
Occasional Advisor

Hi Sir,
Thank you very much for your response and the useful information. Actually my tape library deployment is quite simple one work station to the library via fcp and HBA ( no client server deployment ) so is there any simpler solutions as I'm not sure that I can justify purchasing a rather sophisticated software to achieve this simple task. I looked to the DP it is a great app but for more complex tasks. Thanks alot again for responding
Rajat Bhargava
HPE Pro

Hello Alaa

Most of the softwares are pretty sophisticated. However you could look at these softwares too:

https://h20272.www2.hpe.com/spock/utility/document.aspx?docurl=Shared%20Documents/hw/nearline/StoreEver_DAPRMatrix.pdf

Page 22 and 23

Regards
Rajat_B
I am an HPE Employee
Alaa_Adnan
Occasional Advisor

Hello Rajat