108756 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Can't attach to new cluster

SOLVED
Go to solution
BillKOM
Occasional Advisor

Can't attach to new cluster

I'm new to these units and have been making my way via brute force & ignorance.

That being said, I'm having a small issue with a cluster. I have it created with two nodes. When I try to point my initiator at the cluster IP, I get a target error. If I instead try to use the IP of either cluster node, it connects without any problem. I've been reading about the failover manager but I'm not sure if that is the missing piece or not.

What am I doing wrong?
13 REPLIES 13
Bryan McMullan
Trusted Contributor

Are you talking about using the VIP IP as your Gateway? If so, just use a manager or two and you'll be fine (really, just the two IP's of your units). The gateway is only used to list targets and once connected, the VIP should be used correctly (assuming you're using load balancing).

FOM is only needed when you have multiple sites as backup. It shouldn't be necessary with your two units.
BillKOM
Occasional Advisor

I'm not sure what a VIP IP (virtual IP?) is, but when I created the cluster, it wanted a IP address for the cluster. My nodes are 10.10.0.123 and .124, with the cluster having a virtual IP of .125. I assumed that you point your initiator to the cluster IP and the nodes handle who responds to it.

Are you saying that I should attach to one of the nodes directly instead? What happens when that node dies, as there is nothing to redirect the request to the other node?

btw thanks for the reply. It's not easy not knowing what you're doing ;)
ajamil786
Frequent Advisor