StoreVirtual Storage
1752815 Members
6077 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

LEFTHAND SAN - Reclaiming Space - Say it isn't so!

kiwiiwik
Occasional Visitor

LEFTHAND SAN - Reclaiming Space - Say it isn't so!

Hi,

I hope that the experts here can provide some clarity based on a simple specific example. I have spent an hour looking though messages on this board and have formed an opinion - I can't quite believe it is correct though:

I am a consultant and have a client who has a LH San installed and maintained by an MSP. The MSP is pressing them to add another two nodes to their 5 node SAN to alleviate disk space issues. I don't believe adding more nodes is the correct solution.

Consider this example:

• The SAN is used for storage of files created by forensic analysis software which runs on a Windows 7 64bit workstation.
  • The disk volumes on the SAN are presented as ISCSI targets. The volumes are thnn provisioned.
  • One of these disk volumes  (Q:) is seen in Windows explorer as a 5TB volumes and is shown as 2.5TB used 2.5TB free.
  • In the chart provided by the MSP they show that this volume is "consuming" 10.23TB of SAN space out of a total available of 31.8TB across the SAN.

Q1: How can my client recover the lost 5.23TB and return it to the available pool?

Q2: From what I have read on the board the only solution is to backup the entire volume to the Windows 7 workstation then create a new volume on the SAN and restore it. Is that correct? (we have already started this process using Shadowprotect desktop and cheap SATA 4TB disks.

Q3: Furthermore the MSP says that if we were to add say 2TB of data to the Q drive as it stands it would push the actual consumed space out to around 12.2TB - ie it would'nt overwrite any of the aready consumed space. That implies that regardless of housekeeping/deletion of files at the Windows 7 level the size of the consumed space on the volume will continue to grow. Is that correct?