5259 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: P4000: VHD sizing / Management

KFKGmbH
Advisor

P4000: VHD sizing / Management

Hello to all.

I am relatively new to P4000 and while installing a test environment, there are coming up several questions. I hope someone can give me a few hints for successfully installing this solution in production environments.

My first question is: If I have a local storag of 1200GB, what size should the virtual hard disk for the VSA be configured? Is there a percentage that should stay free on the VMFS? And the same question comes up when sizing the volume(s) inside the VSA? And in which cases configure more than one volume?

The second is management of the VSA virtual machines and the failover manager. Can two virtual NICs be configured? One has to be placed into the iSCSI network, and we want the iSCSI network physically isolated from the production network. Is it possible to configure a second NIC for the VSAs and the FOM and how to configure this second NIC to only be used for management traffic and not for iSCSI traffic?

Thank you very much for your time.

Best regards

Thorsten
5 REPLIES 5
ajamil786
Frequent Advisor

You can use the maximum size available to the ESX virtualization host on the local disk. The usable space when you define the volumes in the CMC will be roughly 5% less due to Meta data overhead.
You can add a second NIC just like any other virtual machine but all your nodes including the FOM and VIP has to be on the same network(subnet). I don't see an advantage of adding another NIC since VSA does not support NIC bonding. You can use the maximum size available to the ESX virtualization host on the local disk. The usable space when you define the volumes in the CMC will be roughly 5% less due to Meta data overhead.