Switches, Hubs, and Modems
1753400 Members
7452 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Does this network setup look correct? (vlanning)

Wichard
Occasional Contributor

Does this network setup look correct? (vlanning)

For simplicity say I have 1 blade enclosure with GBE2 switches, in this enclosure is 8 blades

2 of these blades are management servers
2 of these blades are for a client team 1
2 of these blades are for a client team 2
1 of these blades is for client team 3
1 of these blades is for client team 4

client team 1 and 2 for security want to be virtually isolated, they need to communicate with the management servers and the internet but be invisible to other servers

client team 3 + 4 has low security requirements and need to communicate with the management servers and can communicate with each other

This is my solution (I am very new to vlanning so hopefully this all makes sense)

On the GBE2, the management servers will be in VLAN 2
CLIENT TEAM 1 will be VLAN 4
CLIENT TEAM 2 will be VLAN 5
CLIENT TEAM 3 + 4 will be in VLAN 3

vlan tagging will be enabled on all uplink and crosslink ports

The GBE2 switches feed into a linksys managed switch (I know its linksys :( but they have been great budget switches)
On the linksys switch, I will enable vlan trunking on all the ports that connect to the GBE2 switch. This linksys switch feeds to another linksys switch. This linksys switch will also have vlan trunking enabled on the ports that are vlan trunking from the previous linksys switch.

Now from here, the linksys will have ports assigned to the specific VLANs.

These ports will connect to ports on a Cisco switch that has private vlans enabled.

The management VLAN (2) will plug into a promiscuous port (the firewall (also gateway) will be connected to a promiscuous port

The client team 3 + 4 vlan (3) will plug into a community port

The client team 1 + 2 (vlan 4+5) will each have a isolate port on the switch