New Discussion юеВ

Re: New Switch Config Ideas/Recommendations - Vlans / Redundant Paths

SOLVED
Go to solution
David Frensham
Occasional Contributor

New Switch Config Ideas/Recommendations - Vlans / Redundant Paths

Hi All

I have read a number of posts where you have provided some guidance based on your hands on experience on HP switches and am hoping you can help me.

Please go easy, I am kind of new to this. I have done a lot of top level reading but not much hands on.

Background
We have got a network consisting of around 120 pcs, 10-12 servers. Cat5e throughout.

I have inherited a mix of old 3com switches.

In the main wiring closest 2nd flr I have 48 ports (2 stacked 3870├в s), nokia IP295 firewall (6 Nics, 4 in use linked to different vlans), internet service provided through two cisco routers doing hsrp each providing 2 different internet feeds for failover, a Les3 router link to a DR site, another router link via an MPLS network to Canada.

I have got public ISP provided IP├в s used inside the network and additional private subnets as well!.

We have also got the beginnings of IP phones being distributed and these have been put on the DMZ vlan (don├в t ask).

These two switches have got vlans implemented in a sporadic way each with ports added in no particular physical order.

VLAN 1 general nw on 192.168.10.x & 192.168.40.x and public 62.188.116.x
VLAN 2 external nw on 62.188.116.192 (dmz and ip phones)
VLAN 3 guest nw on 192.168.30.x
VLAN 4 internet / vpn ├в 62.188.116.129

So from the above everything has become reliant on two 24 port switches stacked together which are old, failing fans and at capacity. The closet is max├в d out. The only thing to happen in this closet room in the future is that the digital phone handsets will be replaced, meaning we will gain space on the voice extension space in the racks but will need switch ports providing POE for future handsets on that floor.