3402 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Switch to Switch Trunk and have to manage all the switches

lijujohn
Occasional Advisor

Switch to Switch Trunk and have to manage all the switches

Hi all,

I need an advise in Switch to switch Trunk and how to manage all the switches. As i am new to VLAN and things. Please give me a little detailed advise.

i have 4 number of 2910 switches all are 48 port layer 3 switches. All are connecteed in the following way

sw1--------sw2----------sw3-----------sw4

also i have 18 VLAN s assigned on the switches and this VLANS repeat in all the switches

VLAN 2 , 3, 4....19

The main gateway that goes to the firewall and internet is from SWITCH1 and so i guess all the VLANs should terminate in the main SWITCH. how i can do this and also i wanted to manage all the switches?

If i am using trunk to trunk please help me with how to do the trunking .

anyone please help me in this issue.

Thanks, 

7 REPLIES 7
DMilford
Frequent Advisor

You have asked many questions, and unfortunately there is no quick easy answer for all of this. The thing is, configuring vlans on switches is never a plug-and-play activity. It involves some sophisticated knowledge and training. From a general standpoint, the switch configuration you have drawn should work fine, but you want some redundancy. I would recommend setting up your trunk links with multiple lines each, at least 2 but preferably 4, if you can afford the extra ports (that would be 8 ports each dedicated to trunk links on the 2 middle switches). Bandwidth performance would be best if you could configure the multiple trunk links to always be on and load balanced.