New Discussion юеВ

Clustering guidelines for RHEL6

SOLVED
Go to solution
rhel6_cluster
Advisor

Hi all,

I am a beginner, i am configuring clustering for the first time. Therefore could you please provide me some guidelines and pre-requisites for cluster setup in RHEL6 ?
I have 2 BL460 G7 blades, storage HP P6000 for quorum and shared disks and planning to use iLO for fencing.

Appreciate your help!
Thanks!!

2 REPLIES 2
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor
Solution

Sorry Senthil, looks like I missed your last post in this thread. Anyway...

1.) apparently you can get the information with "mkqdisk -d -L"

2+3+4.) deadnode_timeout is a RHEL4.x Cluster parameter, and does not exist in the same form in RHEL5.x and newer.

The closest equivalent is the combination of qdisk's interval and tko parameters: the qdisk cycles once every interval seconds, and once a node has failed to participate or its qdisk heuristics score has been too low (it must score more than 50% of the sum of its heuristics scores) in tko consecutive cycles,  the node will be declared dead.

When a node is declared dead, an eviction notice for it is written to the shared quorum disk, and fencing is triggered. Note: any failover actions can only happen after fencing is successful.

In other words, the dead node will be timed out by qdiskd in (interval * tko) seconds. By adjusting these two parameters, you will adjust qdiskd's node timeout.

---------------------------

rhel6_cluster:

It would be better if you started your own thread instead of resurrecting an old one for your question. Click on the blue "New Post" button at the top of the topic list for the Linux -> System Administration section.

A few points:

• Use bonding to make your network connections fault-tolerant.
  • IP Multicast must work correctly or else RHEL Cluster won't work. This is an absolute requirement.