108809 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Install Redhat onto bl460 remotely

SOLVED
Go to solution
jerrym
Trusted Contributor

Install Redhat onto bl460 remotely

I am trying to figure out how to install rhel-server-5.7-x86_64-dvd.iso  onto a bl460 remotely from another server. This is my first time installing on a blade in a frame so I am completely lost. I can connect to the frame web iLO or the CLI  iLO. I can't seem to find any docs on how to do this install.

5 REPLIES 5
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Basically, you have two options for remote installation:

• use iLO virtual media functionality

This is the easiest to do if you have only one blade to install. Connect to the blade iLO using a web browser, mount the .iso file to the blade as a virtual CD/DVD media, then use the remote console to tell the blade to boot from CD/DVD. Proceed as with a regular RHEL installation.

• set up a network installation server, and configure the blade to boot from network for the installation

This is very useful if you need to install many blades, but requires a bit of effort to set up. The x86 blades use PXE network boot standard, so the features you'll need are: a) a DHCP server to supply an IP address and other necessary boot parameters to the blade, b) a TFTP server where the PXE boot code can download the bootloader, Linux kernel and initrd from, and c) a NFS or HTTP or FTP server to hold the rest of the contents of the installation media.

All these three can be combined into a single server, although if your network already has a DHCP server you must not set up another one in the same network segment (in that case, you need to have the DHCP server administrator add a few settings, so that the DHCP server will point the PXE boot code to the right server for booting).

Chapter 2.5 of the RHEL 5.x Installation Guide describes how to prepare a NFS/HTTP/FTP server to provide the installation media, and chapter 34 describes the steps required to set up a PXE network boot.