1752287 Members
4395 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Linux Patching Plan.- RHEL5

brian_31
Super Advisor

Linux Patching Plan.- RHEL5

Coming from the HP-UX world, our org. tend to develop patch bundles and bundle them into a depot and distribute this every quarter (for example QPK's. any other recommended patches etc). The Company wants a similar plan for linux. I am new to Redhat Linux and i would like to know some ideas. The leadership wants similar plan to HP-UX, Solaris, AIX and linux. The first 3 are already in Place and Linux needs to be done now. Please throw more ideas on this! I know redhat does not have quartely updates and may not have real patch bundles, but i would like some ideas and possibilities.

Thanks

Brian.
10 REPLIES 10
Tim Nelson
Honored Contributor

download updates into private repository on a quarterly basis

use private repository to update all servers

tips:
install yum-downloadonly rpm
createrepo
disable rhn plugin in rhnplugin.conf
enable private repo in /etc/yum.repos.d/

I can give more specifics but I find that I learn 12 new things while reading... your call.

brian_31
Super Advisor

Thanks Tim!

It is a good start. Please post more ideas when you find time. Thanks again!

Brian
Gerardo Arceri
Trusted Contributor

As an HP hardware user, i always try to upgrade the firmware/HP Tools/drivers along with the OS Updates.
Just wanted to contribute with my $.02
Abushad
Advisor

Hi brian,

You can create a repo server to implement SD in linux.
Note:This facility is only available by defualt in rhel5 onwards
download the patches/softwares into a repo folder.then run cmd
#createrepo -v

configure the machine to use as a FTP server bcz client uses ftp service to access the repo

client configuration
Edit the config file to use as a repo client.
#cp /etc/yum.repos.d/rhel-debuginfo.repo /etc/yum.repos.d/local.repo
#vi /etc/yum.repos.d/local.repo
baseurl=ftp://ipaddress of repo server/repo folder
enabled=1