5686 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Older-Timer (HP-UX): Installing OS on N-Class

preston3271
Advisor

Older-Timer (HP-UX): Installing OS on N-Class

Hi, Everyone:

Go easy on me, as I am an old time HP-UX administrator who last touch HP-UX K-Class 580. Now after year of HP Openview, I need to go back to building OS's on N-Class and Superdome servers. I understand the Ignite-UX image blows down to new servers, but what if you are starting with one HP-UX server and have to build the OS up for scratch. Do you still use Ignite-UX or Logical Volume Manager to establish the boot disks and mirroring?
Louis Preston Thornton III
Sr. System Administrator (Monitoring Team)
Intrado Inc.
1601 Dry Creek Drive, Longmont, CO 80503
Email: Louis.Thornton@Intrado.com
Email: preston3271@gmail.com
Office: 720-864-7515
Cell: 720-879-2001
3 REPLIES 3
Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor

Re: Older-Timer (HP-UX): Installing OS on N-Class

A K580 Ignite image is worthless for the Nclass and SuperDome. Simple Ignite images taken from an existing server are hardware specific, both CPU and I/O, so you'll need a real Install DVD for the new boxes. All HP servers are sold with media (DVD) so use that (or newer) to install the boxes. When you install, the advanced menu will have you LVM layout. However, don't use your K580 LVM layout for the new boxes -- they are probably far too small.

Bill Hassell, sysadmin
preston3271
Advisor

I understand that I would not use the K-580 imaging for the N-Class. But, you did answer my first question for a fresh install of a standalone system. I would still use the Install DVD for the OS and I assume the Mirror-UX package to setup the boot disk for mirrored root disk. So, this is still all this same. I am not familiar with the zone hardware (Isolated OS Partitions). Could you point me to the starting place (documents) to learn more about this.
Louis Preston Thornton III
Sr. System Administrator (Monitoring Team)
Intrado Inc.