- mount /sda

- tar /sda to backup device

- boot /sda

- mkfs /sdb

- mount /sdb

- tar backup of /sda onto /sdb

- edit files like fstab

- boot and run off of /sdb

(I may have missed a step above (I've got the flu and am not fully on-line :-), I've been doing this since 1995 with no problem).

So I do all that and boot from /sdb.

Now, I login as me and find that I can no longer do <ping> or <rlogin>:

(I'm going to use fully-qualified pathnames so you can see what's going on)

tonyp% /bin/ping m2404txp
ping: icmp open socket: Operation not permitted

tonyp% /usr/bin/rlogin m2404txp
rcmd: socket: Permission denied

-- Now look what happens when I do it from /sda--

tonyp% /sda/bin/ping m2404txp
PING m2404txp (15.19.89.12) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from m2404txp (15.19.89.12): icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=0.284 ms
64 bytes from m2404txp (15.19.89.12): icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.260 ms
64 bytes from m2404txp (15.19.89.12): icmp_req=3 ttl=64 time=0.257 ms

tonyp% /sda/usr/bin/rlogin m2404txp
Last login: Sat Oct 27 09:19:39 from blacktower

--

I've checked the directory permissions and <diff> the files and they are the same.

My only guess is that somewhere there is an entry that says "tonyp can run the following utilities on /sda".

Any ideas as to what to look for?

(I'm going to boot from /sda and then mount /sdb and see if I get the opposite results of the rlogin and ping commands.

regards,

tony.podrasky@gmail.com

REMEMBER: Once you eliminate your #1 problem, #2 gets a promotion.
2 REPLIES 2
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Program runs from one file system but not the other

> My only guess is that somewhere there is an entry that says "tonyp can run the following utilities on /sda".

Actually, the utilities *are* running just fine, but the OS rejects some operations that are critical for the proper functioning of those utilities.