1753727 Members
4623 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: time precision

SOLVED
Go to solution

time precision

I am looking for a way to get the greatest time precision that I can from my HP-UX 11.23 Itanium system. We have found a link to a resource that leads us to believe that we can get down to the nano second level: http://h21007.www2.hp.com/portal/download/files/unprot/hpux/HowToTellTheTime.pdf

However this references C functions and I am not a C programmer. Does anyone know of a different way to get this level of precision or can someone write a simple C program that will use the correct C function to display the current timestamp down to the nano second?

Points will be awarded.
6 REPLIES 6
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

> [...] I am not a C programmer.

Then what do you intend to do with the
high-precision time value? Display it for a
person who can't read it in a million
nanoseconds? What's the point?

Is there some actual problem which you are
trying to solve?

Note also that precision and accuracy are not
the same thing.
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

If you stop and think about this for a moment, you will realize how ludicrous this request is. Very high resolution timers only have meaning inside a single application so that unless your measurements are inside a C program (or Java possibly), the measurements will mean little. Trying to call a high resolution timer externally makes no sense because the overhead of fork()'ing and exec()'ing a new process will swamp the resolution of your timer. Moreover, the non-repeatability of such external calls will gretly exceed the resolution of your timer by orders of magnitude.

It would help if you describe what you are trying to do and then more reasonable schemes might be suggested.
If it ain't broke, I can fix that.