3422 Online
108791 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: ubuntu kernel ?

Nadie_1
Frequent Advisor

ubuntu kernel ?

hi i just create mu ltiboot with windows and ubuntu 11.04

i noticed that my kernel is not compiled by default upon installing one of the rpm packages so im recompiling it

im new to linux, can someone tell me why we need to compile kernel and why it's not compiled by default, how do i find out whata kernel level running and whether it's compiled or not ?

thnx

1 REPLY 1
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Re: ubuntu kernel ?

With modern Linux distributions, you usually don't have to compile the kernel: the distribution builder has already compiled the kernel and a set of kernel modules, and packaged it to .deb (Debian, Ubuntu) or .rpm (most other distributions) packages.

You need to compile the kernel only if you have special requirements: for example, if you want/need to use newer kernel than your distribution has available, or if you want to use experimental drivers, or if you are trying to fix a kernel bug or otherwise participating in the kernel development process.

When a kernel (or any type of software) is compiled, it is transformed from a human-readable source code for to machine-readable binary form. Scripts won't need to be compiled, because they are interpreted at runtime by the appropriate script interpreter, which is normally a binary program. By definition, the kernel is the part of the operating system that runs the actual system hardware: so the kernel must be directly executable by the hardware. Therefore, you cannot ever be "running a kernel that is not compiled": that is absolutely impossible.