1748270 Members
3640 Online
108760 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: HP 1820 vlan config

lcman
Occasional Visitor

HP 1820 vlan config

Hope someone can help me with this, I did have a HP2510-24 switch thats just failed so I have replaced it with a HP1820-24. The original 2510 was configured with 4 VLANS (which I am still learning SLOWLY)

HP2510

VLAN 1 = Ports 1-6, VLAN 2 = Ports 7-12, VLAN 3 = 13-18, VLAN 4 = Ports 19-24 all ports untagged. Each VLAN is a connected to a seperate network running AD, DHCP,DNS etc. This all worked fine, with my management pc's on each vlan

HP1820

I have configured VLANS identical to above, but as soon as I connect my different network I loose access to some of the network. So I am presumming I have a config error but am struggling to resolve it all help appreciated. I basically want ot chop the 24 ports up into 6 port chunks with NO connectivity between each VLAN.

5 REPLIES 5
-TM-
Advisor

Not reaching parts of your network sounds like trouble with the Spanning Tree. Loops in your netowrk are very common for disabling the network.

The 1820 series is a Layer-2 Switch. Defined several VLANs (don't forget to save changes before the next power cycle) should isolate any VLAN from the others. You'd need a router/L3-Switch to connect those VLANS again. Are you using different IP-nets for every VLAN?

lcman
Occasional Visitor

Yeap each network has different IP's, as I said I dont want ANY connectivity between VLAN's I just want to chop the 24 ports into 4 x 6 port chunks this was easy to setup on my HP2510 any help appreciated.

-TM-
Advisor

I don't have a 1820, but the documentation chapter 5 says: 

http://h20566.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?sp4ts.oid=7687976&docId=emr_na-c04622710&docLocale=en_US

1.) create VLAN (1,2,3,4)

2.) select Ports to assign as 'untagged' or 'excluded' port to each VLAN.

Should work. 

Fritsch James
Frequent Advisor