6446 Online
108797 Solutions
New Discussion

HP V1920 PoE (370W) - Weird Issues

mvdm_za
Occasional Visitor

HP V1920 PoE (370W) - Weird Issues

Good afternoon everyone,

I'm new to the deeper side of networking as I've never had the opportunity before to delve into the dark side of networking, so please bear this in mind...

I look after our organization's I.T. infrastructure, so at the moment, quite the jack of all trades, and recently we began getting funny issues on our network which started with our executive's office Wi-Fi AP losing connectivity as well as their Colour printer losing connectivity, I then after some head scratching pin pointed it to a faulty/tempramental el'cheapo Netgear switch and proceeded to look into replacing these old nasty switches with some of better quality/reputation, so our organization got 4x HP V1920 48 Port PoE (370W) switches and 4x new x121 GBIC SPF cards as we have our old offices linked to our new office via 2x fiber links.

Anyhow, long story short, I replaced the switches this past Friday and all seemed great, until yesterday evening and today the whole day.

We run two VLANs (VLAN1 = DATA and VLAN2 = VOIP) - so basically on my side (new building) I have a Mikrotik RB750 doing the routing between the 2x VLANs (192.168.1.xxx and 20.30.40.xxx) - there are certain ports on my switch configured to be untagged from VLAN 2, not a member of VLAN 1 and PVID 2, which connects to our Mitel 3300 PABX, MBG, etc, in essence anything that has a 20.30.40.xxx IP only, then all other ports are Untagged on VLAN 1, tagged VLAN2 and PVID 1 in Hybrid mode - as stated before, all ran fine for most of the weekend up until yesterday and today I was running up and down with weird issues on the network, and this is how it was set up on our old switches.