New Discussion юеВ

Re: two clusters joined to same storage

deepak bajpai_2
Occasional Contributor

two clusters joined to same storage

I am new to the filed of SAN and have a SAN setup having :
1 MSA 1000
1 2/16 EL fiber switch
2 clusters of Proliant DL 380 G3 servers- Each cluster is single path, 4 node(Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition).

Now, could any body guide me as to how should I configure the storage,switch to securely use two clusters with One storage.

I would like to know the steps to be taken with respect to LUN masking, zoning etc.

If we do LUN masking then do we have to do zoning? If yes then what kind of zoning- hard or soft?

Thanks,
Deepak
6 REPLIES 6
Doug de Werd
HPE Pro

you can use zoning to separate the 2 clusters. see the zoning docs (at the bottom) of this link

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DocumentIndex.jsp?locale=en_US&contentType=SupportManual&docIndexId=1255&prodTypeId=12169&prodSeriesId=315094

You can also use Selective Storage Presentation (SSP, aka LUN Masking). You set this up using the Array Config Utility (ACU). Once you have created the arrays and volumes on the shared storage, use the ACU to configure SSP so that ALL servers in a cluster can see ALL disks that will be in that cluster. Then do the same for the second cluster. Make sure that every servers in cluster 1 has access to every disk volume in cluster 1, but none of the serevrs in cluster 1 should have access to any of the disks in serevr 2 (and vice versa).

For sure you must configure SSP, and I would do zonign as well.

Thanks,
Doug
I am an HPE employee
Accept or Kudo
deepak bajpai_2
Occasional Contributor

Take the scenario.

we have to form 8 logical drives out of 4 physical drives in an Array.

Then using SSP we give exclusive access to 4 Logical drives to cluster1 and other 4 logical drives to cluster2.But, all these 8 logical drives divided between 2 clusters are on same 4 physical drives.