109062 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Sys Admin Daily Tasks

SOLVED
Go to solution
Teck Sim
Frequent Advisor

Sys Admin Daily Tasks

I am a DBA, and at the same time, I am also trained to become a Sys Admin. Anyone can tell me what are the daily routines/tasks need to perform and proactively manage the systems.
We are at hp-ux 10.20 and 11 9000/800 environment.
Thanks in advance.

6 REPLIES 6
Clemens van Everdingen
Honored Contributor

Hi,

see the following threads:

http://forums.itrc.hp.com/cm/QuestionAnswer/1,,0xd3cca1abbac8d5118ff10090279cd0f9,00.html

http://forums.itrc.hp.com/cm/QuestionAnswer/1,,0x26cc3bd5184bd61190000090279cd0f9,00.html

And there are a lot more, use search option and search for daily task.

C.
The computer is a great invention, there are as many mistakes as ever, but they are nobody's fault !
Helen French
Honored Contributor

Hi,

Yes, there are lot of threads in this forum on this topic. Check this guide too, it will be helpful:

http://www.docs.hp.com/hpux/onlinedocs/B2355-90672/B2355-90672.html

HTH,
Shiju
Life is a promise, fulfill it!
Victor_5
Trusted Contributor
Solution

There are a lot of posts in this forum talking about this topic, just search, and go through those results, you will get clearer picture.

For the daily task, it is really depends, it is a development environment, or it is a production environment?... What is the funtion of the server? web server, db server, openview server, printer server... Different answer for different area, but what I am trying to say here is no matter what is the environment, what is the server role, backup always is the top one!
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor

In the first thread that Clemens pointed you to, Clay Stephenson made this point