1756723 Members
2626 Online
108852 Solutions
New Discussion

Nimble Connections

Synergize
Occasional Advisor

Nimble Connections

I'm new to Nimble. We will have 2x 1Gb mgmt ports and 2  NICs used for ISCSI with 4 ports on each. Since the 1Gb mgmt connection might not be enough for replication.

1. I'm wondering if we can use 1 port on each of teh NICS that were designated for ISCSI.

2. If so when setting itu p in Nimble would that port still be labeled as MGMT or needs a different label for replication traffic to flow onto it?

3.How do you dedicate replication traffic to a port?

4. Is it ok to have an odd number of ISCSI connections per NIC. E.g. 3 per NIC instead of 4?

Final Setup would be:

2 ports using onbard nics for mgmt

NIC1 - 3 ports for ISCSI,1 for replication

NIC2 -3 ports for ISCSI,1 for replication

4 REPLIES 4
Sheldon Smith
HPE Pro

Re: Nimble Connections

First of all, the system comes up with the RJ45 ports set for the Management subnet, but: Any port can be assigned to any (defined) subnet.
Next, you don't mention what system you have, but the RJ45 ports on the newer ones auto-negatiate between 1Gb and 10Gb.

Replication traffic goes to the subnet(s) with the 'group' traffic.

Note: While I am an HPE Employee, all of my comments (whether noted or not), are my own and are not any official representation of the company

Accept or Kudo

Nick_Dyer
Honored Contributor

Hello!