4112 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Monitor on workstation going black for 5 minutes

Vincent Farrugia
Honored Contributor

Monitor on workstation going black for 5 minutes

Hello,

I've been experiencing problems on the HP 715/100 server we have. The screen is black for 5 minutes... nothing can be pressed on the keyboard to bring it on... then leds 7 and 8 flash, after that, the screen is on again with a beep, but this is only for a split second, then the screen is blank again for 5 minutes. Currently, the workstation is requesting for the login. Heartbeat is ok. I'm a beginner and require help please. What shall I do?

Thanks,
Vince
Tape Drives RULE!!!
9 REPLIES 9
Alex Glennie
Honored Contributor

Re: Monitor on workstation going black for 5 minutes

Has this always occurred ? If not what changed ?

when the screen is "on for a split second" what do you see - a CDE login panel, an error or startup info or similar ?

What's the O/S ? and do you know if dtlogin or vuelogin are being used to start the xwindows session you are expecting ? ps -ef | grep dtlogin etc ?

Can you also check /var/dt/Xerrors and if running CDE (dtlogin) I'd run the CDE diagnostic tool dr_dt (for vue use dr_vue).

You may also want to try this :
init 2
/usr/bin/X11/X : 0 ? result ?

if you get a grey mesh screen + cross hairs your Xserver works hint : kill it with a then go back to init 3.

Stefan Farrelly
Honored Contributor

I can think of 3 possibilities;

1. Monitor is going bad - try another monitor

2. You are using a non HP workstation monitor, and the monitor you are using is having sync problems to the workstation. Try using an HP monitor or a PC monitor with the correct sync on green capability and correct resolution.

3. Connection to monitor is bad - check cable

4. Hardware problem with graphics card in the workstation. If you can prove this you will need to log a hardware call with HP.
Im from Palmerston North, New Zealand, but somehow ended up in London...