108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

EVA 5000, Proliant Servers, and NIC Teaming

SOLVED
Go to solution
PatrickFrith
Advisor

EVA 5000, Proliant Servers, and NIC Teaming

Please forgive me if this is a lame question, I'm still relatively new to the process of tuning my ProLiants for the EVA. Our EVA is connected to six(6) ProLiant servers - even split between ML370-G3 and DL580-G2. The servers connect to the EVA via Emulex HBAs. The second NIC in each server was originally disabled, however, I would like to begin to use HP NIC Teaming software to improve load balancing and/or failover.

Here's the question: Anyone seen any issues for users (or the EVA software on the server - such as Secure Path) when the NIC Teaming functions are utilized?

Thanks!
Patrick
4 REPLIES 4
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: EVA 5000, Proliant Servers, and NIC Teaming

It's a confusing question - to me, at last. Let's see if we can remove the confusion.

The 'Emulex HBA' is a Fibre Channel adapter running Fibre Channel protocol.

NIC is short for 'Network Interface Card' and usually means an 'ethernet adapter'.

In the SAN world, using multiple paths is called, well 'multipath'. Secure Path is a filter driver that loads between the adapter driver and the file system level, because most operating systems do not know how to deal with redundant paths.

Whether you can use Secure Path's load balancing (sending data over both Fibre Channel adapters), depends on the Secure Path version, the operating system and version and how the operating system is configured - e.g. it is not supported on some Windows MicroSoft Cluster Server configurations. There is a table in the Secure Path documentation.
PatrickFrith
Advisor

Sorry for the confusion Uwe and thanks for the reply. I tried to make the question straightforward, but...