1747980 Members
3925 Online
108756 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Fortran Libraries

Jim McGuire

Fortran Libraries

I have to IA-64s, and I cannot get a specific engineering app to work on one of them. I've done waaaay too much disgnosis on disks, app install, etc, but still no go.

The vendor noitced that the error is very specific to FORTRAN, and he thought that I should "roll back" the system that does not work right to the version of FORTRAN that is on the system that does work right.

How does one figure this out??

I've looked at SWLIST, but there does not seem to be anything in there to tell me about those libraries.

Thank you in advance.

Scott
3 REPLIES 3
Tom Schroll
Frequent Advisor

Scott,

I happen to work for one of those "engineering app" companies. Though I do not work in the application Tech Support group, so I need to be careful with what authority I have to say cannot say here (I am only a Systems Administrator).

Try these two commands:

swlist -R | grep -i fortran
swlist -R | grep -i f90

Look for version numbers (2nd col) and compare those to a good system. Ignore Man Pages, Foreign Languages and junk like that. Just pay attention to libraries, compilers and patches.

More specifically, we require two large patch bundles for 11.23, from August 2004 and Sept. 2004. These may have been customized for us to solve a problem specific to our environment, but I can send you the (LARGE) list of patches in those bundles. I think one of the key patches in that set was PHSS_32231, Fortran I/O Library patch. Without that patch, our software has major problems.

No warranty implied or expressed.

-- Tom
If it ain't broke, it needs optimized.
Scott Sabo
Frequent Advisor

Tom,

I'm now replying with my account, not my "partners" account.

Not much diff. between the systems. I've attached a PDF that lists the differences.

Could there be corruption?

Very puzzled......

Scott
Tom Schroll
Frequent Advisor

Scott,