108806 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

RTS 114 errors.

SOLVED
Go to solution
Ken Mueller
Advisor

RTS 114 errors.

We are having a serious problem with our Cobol programs. We have 2 servers, 'A' is 10.20, 'B' is 11.0.
Originally our programs were on 'A', compiled with MicroFocus V4.0 B.11.32 and they ran fine. We've since moved the source over to 'B', and compiled with MicroFocus V4.1 B13.40. Nearly all of these programs crash with RTS 114 errors, AKA "Attempt to access item beyond bounds of memory (Signal 10)". If we compile the programs on 'A' and copy the binaries to 'B', they run fine. This is not really an option, though, as 'A' is soon to be retired. The software vendor for our Cobol programs has been attempting to figure what is causing the problem, and is leaning towards a compiler bug. I have attached a snippet showing what the code was that was generating the error and what he did to fix it. The 'before' was perfectly legal syntax, as far as I know (I'm not a Cobol programmer), but the program crashes nevertheless. Is this a known problem? Does anyone have any ideas how we can rectify this situation? The vendor is not willing to go through the hundreds of programs we have to make silly changes.
8 REPLIES 8
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: RTS 114 errors.

Hi Ken:

This is pretty vanilla code! I'd check out the Merant (MicroFocus) knowledge base and or escalate with them. There is no reason you should have to re-engineer your code.

http://support.merant.com/websupport/Custom/Knowledge.asp

...JRF...
Jon McDermott
Advisor

We ran into a handful of cases where the compiler got pickier about the syntax of our code base when moving from B.11.32 to B.13.35. You might be seeing something like the same.

Do you have any compiler warnings when you compile your code on B.13.40? Don't forget to check and see if you have warnings turned off.