Re: ACCVIO register stack dump

SOLVED
Go to solution
Volker Halle
Honored Contributor
Solution

Abel,

I'm not a C programmer, so I had to write a little example program - see attachment ;-)

But the following lines of C code in your 1st attachment look suspicious to me:

buf[sizeof(buf)-1]='\0';
for (i=0; (buf[i]!=','); i++);
buf[i] = '\0';

What's gonna happen, if there is no ',' in the string ??????

Volker.
pacab
Advisor

Volker,
I checked at the code you pointed out in the for loop. The record being check looks like "user,printer_queue". I looked at the file that holds the aforementioned record layout, and all records appear to have a "," in between the user and queue name.

I know the problem ("bug") has to be in the printing code, because if I do not invoke that functionality the process will not fail. Do you have any more ideas? I trully appreciate all your help. Do you have any docs of tips and trouble shooting techniques you can share?

Thx - Abel
Volker Halle
Honored Contributor

Abel,

please check the buffer contents in the process dump:

SDA> EXA 7AE2C000-2B5F;100

Just looking at the code and the records you think it will read may be fine, but you have the process dump, in which you can check the REAL DATA.

To find out the source code statement on which the ACCVIO is happening, you'll have to have the linker map and the module listing - including machine code - from exactly the version of the image, which is currently running.

But if you think you know the module/routine the failure is happening in, you can separately compile this module with /LIS/MACHINE_CODE and try to find the instruction stream by comparing the instruction stream data from the machine code listing and the process dump.