4100 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Creating a userlist of menu access work file

SOLVED
Go to solution
Tedj400

Creating a userlist of menu access work file

I am very new to the DCL programming world and I need some help on a program to capture all the user access to a software application for a CSOX requirement.

I have created a simple program for one user work directory and one menu file which works but I need to make the program generic and dynamic so that it will loop through all the users work directories and read all the menu files and append the menu file and user to each record.

This is what I have:

$ SET DEF [TJOHNSON]
$ OPEN/READ INFILE MENU.DAT
$ OPEN/WRITE OUTFILE USERLIST.LIS
$ READ_FILE:
$ READ/END_OF_FILE=DONE INFILE DATA
$ WRITE OUTFILE DATA,";", "MENU.DAT",";", "TJOHNSON"
$ GOTO READ_FILE
$ DONE:
$ CLOSE INFILE
$ CLOSE OUTFILE
$ TYPE USERLIST.LIS
$ EXIT

I need the SET DEF line to change to the users working directory"[TJOHNSON]" and not hard coded like my example.

1. All the users work directories are located under the SYS$SYSDEVICE FOLDER.

2. Each work directory contains about 40 *MENU.DAT files. All the menus end with MENU.DAT.

3. I need to read each record in the table and append it with the menu file name and the user(Work directory).

4. Once I have this information in a work file I can FTP the data down to access and create a report with crystal.

I can probably do this with a lot of hard coding and repetition.

Any Ideas?

7 REPLIES 7
Hoff
Honored Contributor

The following is probably going to make little or no sense to you without better grounding in OpenVMS terms and concepts and in DCL (and no offense is intended here) that you clearly lack.

Before you read further in this reply, please go read through the OpenVMS User's Guide, skim the DCL dictionary and particularly the lexical functions, and skim the programming concepts manual.

http://www.hp.com/go/openvms/doc