New Discussion юеВ

Re: Load Broker

SOLVED
Go to solution
Mahmoud_1
Frequent Advisor

Load Broker

Hi to all,
I have tow ES40 cluster systems running OpenVMS 7.3-2. I enabled the LoadBroker service and the Metric service to make load balance but I faced that the connections using the Cluster Alias always directed to the first system that I configured the TCPIP on. I defined alias name for the tow systems and the problem stil there, So how can I do this task.
The steps I did:
1- Configur the TCPIP for both nodes with same cluster alias.
2- Enable the Metric, Lbroker service's
3- Rename the TCPIP$LD_Broker_CONF.template to TCPIP$LD_BROKER.CONF
4- Customize the CONF file
Note:
My serviers address's
systema 172.29.10.70
systemb 172.29.10.71
Cluster Alias 172.29.10.72
Thanks for help.
6 REPLIES 6
Kris Clippeleyr
Honored Contributor

Mahmoud,

Although I have no experience with the LoadBroker module in TCP/IP, I can tell you that when the first node boots in a cluster, and that node starts TCP/IP, the TCP/IP cluster alias is assigned to that node, and will stay there. The current implementation of the TCP/IP stack lacks the load balancing of e.g. DECnet OSI, or even LAT. To me, it's a major design flaw.

Greetz,

Kris
I'm gonna hit the highway like a battering ram on a silver-black phantom bike...
Alex  Daniels
Frequent Advisor

The previous person who answered was talking about the old cluster impersonator, if he wants the load balancing facilities of LAT, he too should look at Load Broker.

You don't need a seperate 'Cluster Alias' IP address with Load Broker, Load Broker updates your DNS servers with the IP address of the least loaded box in your cluster.

In your conf file you should have put the IP address of your DNS server and on the DNS server, allowed updating from the IP addresses of the machine/s where you are running Load Broker.
Mahmoud_1
Frequent Advisor

Hi Alex,