108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: OpenVMS Job Scheduler - Recomendations

SOLVED
Go to solution
John T. Farmer
Regular Advisor

OpenVMS Job Scheduler - Recomendations

I'm a new member of the I.T. staff at my company. The Alpha/OpenVMS 7.2-1 system has been running in a bare-bones mode for the last 6 years. By that, I mean it has the O/S (7.2-1), a COBOL compiler and network connectivity, and that's about it.

I am proposing adding a job scheduler to the mix. Besides the several promient commercial offerings, most freeware searches lead to Cron (and/or Kronos). Is this a recommended solution to pursue for job scheduling? Is this any better than the current use of the VMS Submit command? Does this require "Installation" on OpenVMS? Can someone point me to how-to documentation? I am a developer/analyst by trade, but trying to help establish operations standards in the dept.

No amount of information/suggestions will go un-appreciated. I am starting from the ground up in many areas in I.T. In most of my previous employement, these "infrastructure & tool" decisions had already been made and implemented. I just had to follow the rules. Here, we are needing to establish those rules.

Thanks,

John Farmer
18 REPLIES 18
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor
Solution

John,

Installation on OpenVMS means different things to different people. In the systems sense, it generally means moving files into various systems directories. Your earlier comments in a different thread inquired about PCSI kits. PCSI (if memory serves, originally named PolyCenter Software Installation) is a OpenVMS component for packaging and distributing software and updates. The "installing" user uses the PRODUCT INSTALL command, with a supplied file (a PCSI file) as implicit input (the names are formulaic based upon architecture and product name).