108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Problems Running a TCPIP Service

SOLVED
Go to solution
KNewman

Problems Running a TCPIP Service

Hi,

This is my first time in this forum. I'm fairly new to VMS, but this problem is a mystery to even the more seasoned people I work with so I'm hoping you can help me with this.

I'm trying to get the Veritas backup client running on OpenVMS 8.3 (HP TCP/IP 5.6-9 ECO2). I've installed it *just fine* on like 3 other boxes, all running 8.3, but this one is just not working for some reason.

Here's what the BPCD service looks like now:

TCPIP> sh service bpcd/fu

Service: BPCD
State: Enabled
Port: 13782 Protocol: TCP Address: 0.0.0.0
Inactivity: 5 User_name: SYSTEM Process: BPCD
Limit: 50 Active: 0 Peak: 1

File: $1$DGA481:[BPCD]BPCD_STARTUP.COM
Flags: Listen

Socket Opts: Keepalive Rcheck Scheck
Receive: 0 Send: 0

Log Opts: Acpt Actv Dactv Conn Error Exit Logi Logo Mdfy Rjct TimO Addr
File: $1$DGA481:[OPENV.NETBACKUP.LOGS]BPCD.LOG

Security
Reject msg: This is a test message

Accept host: 0.0.0.0
Accept netw: 0.0.0.0

But when I run bpcd_axp.exe (the executable associated with this service), a "show client" never connects ... it just hangs there. What's stranger, is that when I try telnet'ing to this server on port 13782, I make a connection, but the second I hit a key it drops the connection.

This telnet behavior is much different from the servers where the service *is* working, in that when I telnet to a server with a good client on port 13782, the connection stays open and I can type whatever gibberish I want into the terminal.

What makes this problem so difficult is that I can't get any sort of log or output from whatever is going on. I've tried enabling, disabling, etc., but a log file is never updated with new information.

Any ideas? Thanks guys!
10 REPLIES 10
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

> [...] Veritas backup [...]

About which I know nothing, but, ...

> TCPIP> sh service bpcd/fu