1752631 Members
5535 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: RDB introduction

Bob Blunt
Respected Contributor

Wim, I'm not a RDB expert by any means, I've only had to touch RDB as the supporting database for tools like DECplan, EDCS II and some others during a previous contract. I found it easy to learn the basics but it can get very complex in a big hurry.

There's a database-centric set of pages at http://dba.openvms.org, that group might have some other more specific suggestions and there's a RDB DBA seminar scheduled for later this month listed at the main http://www.openvms.org/ pages. Of course you might also check in the RDB-focused information at the Oracle website.

bob
Richard J Maher
Trusted Contributor

Hi Wim,

> What do you mean with linktables
> (in Oracle syntax) ?

I mean referencing tables in another database through a link table in the local database. The syntax is something linke (I created one yesterday so I should remember better)

create database link myLink connect to me identify mypassword tnsnamesref;

> So the snapsshot too old can't happen
> because the snapshot will grow until ...
> but then what happens if you run out of
> snapshot space ?

Good question. I don't know the answer as I've never seen it happen (even in dev/test) Presumable when the disk runs out of space there will be a cosi-f-kaboom error and something will happen. The philiosophy where I've been is that table-spaces/storage-areas are all able to auto extend (within the limits/percentages specified) An big-uk-bank-oracle site that I was at for some years would pride themselves on having "managed databases" where aouto-extend was forbidden. When I asked what the support DBAs did when they got called at 2:00am 'cos a table space had reached its growth limit, I was told "Well we extend it of course, Duh!" :-)

Set up alarms, device monitoring, OEM, yadda, yadda, yadda.