New Discussion юеВ

UNIX procedure equivalent in OVMS?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Andrew Yip
Advisor

UNIX procedure equivalent in OVMS?

Hello!
I'm a newbie to VMS scripting and i would greatly appreciate if someone would offer me some solutions here.

I've been trying to perform the following procedure in OpenVMS as i've done well in UNIX.

foreach file (`ls `)
mem del $file
end

What exactly i'm trying to do here is to capture a list of existing files in a specified directory and delete those same files residing in a connected industrial machine. The statement "mem del" is basically delete files in the machine's memory.

On top of this, there's another problem with VMS. I noticed when i performed a "directory" command on a location. All the files comes with a version number at the end. This would pose a problem when i try to use the filenames to delete in my machine's memory. In this case, i would need to truncate the trailing version numbers.

How can i get these done with similar commands which i'd used in my UNIX script? Please help....please?!

Augustine Andrew
23 REPLIES 23
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Re: UNIX procedure equivalent in OVMS?

The mechanism to loop over files in a directory is by using a "lexical function" named F$SEARCH():

-----
$LOOP:
$ FNAM = F$SEARCH ("*.*;*")
$ if FNAM .eqs. "" then $ goto DONE
$! delete 'FNAM'
$ write SYS$OUTPUT FNAM
$ goto LOOP
$DONE:
$ exit
-----

> All the files comes with a version number at the end. This would pose a problem when i try to use the filenames to delete in my machine's memory.

You MUST specify a version number (or the "*" wildcard) in order to be able to delete a file.

> i would need to truncate the trailing version numbers.

In case you need this for something else - use:
$ directory *.*; /select=file=noversion /column=1
labadie_1
Honored Contributor

I am not sure there is a Vms equivalent of "mem del".

If you want to check the files in a directory, use f$search, and you can check the help with