Operating System - OpenVMS
1753354 Members
5059 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Vax Console Input not Enabled

Glenn_D

Sorry if my attachments were not politically correct. I'm a technician with Unix, Linux, Windows, DOS, OpenVMs, IOS and GE and Siemens PLCs. Not an expert at anything, just working on a problem.
I have several of these Vax 4000-100 systems running, each with VT520 consoles. I can move this boot drive from one to another and the problem moves with the drive. I can boot another drive in this machine and everything works, so I'm fairly certain that it is a login/startup file type problem. The machine has a login.com file that sets the terminal to a vt200, yet OPA0 boots up as an LA36. Can't find where that comes from.
Anyway, I work a swing shift and am working off. I'll post the attachments and get back on it next week. Thanks for help and guidance!
Glenn_D

Seems that I can only attach one file per session
Glenn_D

The login.com file
Hoff
Honored Contributor

The console terminal is "owned" by a process, which means you won't be able to log in until the device is freed up.

The owner process is listed as 00000104.

SHOW PROCESS /ID=104 /ALL

will tell you which process it is.

It's common to see OPCOM here. That's the error I mentioned earlier.

There have been cases back in this version range where the console can be owned by a non-existant process, which means that SHOW command will generate an error.

First stop is probably the mandatory ECOs.

Start at:

ftp://ftp.itrc.hp.com

And navigate through the links for the OpenVMS VAX V7.3 patches. Here are some pages that can help you decode the terms and concepts here:

http://labs.hoffmanlabs.com/node/348
http://labs.hoffmanlabs.com/node/570

If your OpenVMS VAX box has network connectivity outward to the network, you can fetch files from DCL directly using command-line FTP or via the FTP utility.

http://labs.hoffmanlabs.com/node/136