1753455 Members
5874 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: complete newbie question

Daniel Wepplo
Occasional Contributor

complete newbie question

Hi, I guess I'll just jump in and expose me ignorance.

We have a machining cell that is controlled be a server running OpenVMS Alpha (TM) Operating System, Version V7.1.

Everything works well regarding the communication between the server and the machine. The problem is communicating with the server from our network. We have to transfer machine code to the server file by file using a telnet termianal emulator. Again it works but it is very time consuming.

Our IT dept does its best but I was hoping I could give them a push in the right direction by offering a possible solution to make this system a little more user friendly.

Is there an application available allowing us to drag and drop text files from our microsoft pc's to the VMS server?

Thanks for any help or guidance,
Dan

16 REPLIES 16
Bill Hall
Honored Contributor

Dan,

I'd be willing to bet that this system was installed about 11 years ago and your IT department hasn't done anything to since. VMS 7.1 was released in early 1997. There has been a new OS release every 12-24 months on average since then...

I don't know what "transfer machine code to the server file by file using a telnet termianal emulator" means. The easiest solution might be to use a terminal emulator that has a built-in gui ftp client. That wouild only require your IT department to configure the ftp server that might already be installed but not configured on the server.

Using Advanced Server or even CIFS makes file transfers really easy (almost too easy). These two applications make a VMS server look like a Windows file server to your pc. Your IT department would need to do a series of OS upgrades to get to the current version that would support either of these options.

Bill
Bill Hall
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Dan,