1748019 Members
4082 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Help Configuring SNMPv3

Tina-B
Regular Visitor

Help Configuring SNMPv3

Hello, I'm extremely new to networking in general and I am looking for help configuring SNMPv3 on 2920 switches. All I really need in my configuration is to make sure that iMC can communicate correctly with all my switches in a secure manner. I would like to use ManagerPriv with Sha and AES128 because according to my reading this seems to be the most secure. I also want to make sure there is no SNMPv1/2 access. I thought I had a configuration that seemed to work but I ran into issues when trying to set up autodeployment with iMC. Right now my configuration looks something like this:

snmp-server community "public" unrestricted

snmp-server contact "IT Services x4618" location ${hostname}

snmp-server host 10.248.91.191 community "public" informs trap-level not-info

snmpv3 engineid "00:00:00:0b:00:00:c4:34:6b:89:d0:00"

snmpv3 enable

snmpv3 only

snmpv3 restricted-access

snmpv3 group managerpriv user "iMC" sec-model ver3

snmpv3 user "wrdsb!manAES" auth sha "71c9fc6ed63b0a0d7bc9a8959280" priv aes "f9d61ccfede9865c76a10b7"

I'm quite sure it has many errors. I'm hoping to see some examples of SNMPv3 configurations from the community and perhaps a brief description of how that specific configuration functions. (for example I know precious little about the "server host" and "Trap level" commands). I also do not know if I need to set up an SNMPv3 community along with the managerpriv user.

One more comment - the literature seems to be somewhat contradictory when it comes to using the "include-credentials" command with SNMPv3. I am not clear on whether you can or cannot upload a configuration that includes SNMPv3 into iMC and then subsequently use that configuration when auto-deploying other switches that I want to have the same configuration. Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Help Configuring SNMPv3

There is a post for the older model