Server Management - Systems Insight Manager
1753809 Members
7996 Online
108805 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

How do I exclude systems from sending event alerts?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jason Salgado
Regular Advisor

How do I exclude systems from sending event alerts?

Hello,
I am new to the server world here at our organization. We have over 600 servers which also include VMs. Everything is working OK. I get email alerts when a system goes down or there is a hardware issue.
The problem is we are getting workstations intermixed with our servers on the same subnet.
What I would like to do is to exclude the workstations, which are showing up in HP SIM 5.3 as servers, from email alerts when they are being rebooted or are shut down for the day.
I've tried to add host names one line at a time in "Discard SNMP traps from discovered systems in IP ranges:" as well as their IP address, but that didn't work.
I also noticed under "all scheduled tasks">"hardware status polling for servers", if I edit that and click on "server status polling list", workstations are showing up in there. I don't see how I can edit that list or remove them from there.
I would rather not edit our discovery subnets as there are way too many servers to edit this for every IP address.
So I've tried playing around with this, but I just can't seem to get it to NOT notify me of a workstation problem. I have a windows XP SP2 workstation as I am using to test with, but HP SIM 5.3 just keeps notifying my when I turn the system off or back on. We have about 40 XP SP2 workstations right now that are sending alerts, which I don't want.
Please help.
Thanks.
9 REPLIES 9
marsh_1
Honored Contributor

Re: How do I exclude systems from sending event alerts?

hi,

do you want them monitored at all or just the event e-mail to be stopped ?