9090 Online
108805 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Package in package configuration

Coen Meerbeek
Occasional Advisor

Package in package configuration

I am a developer for HP uCMDB.
Out-of-the-box the uCMDB discovers the packages returned by the cmviewcl -v command. The customer I am currently working on has declared mutliple Disk/IPs/subnets in the package controle file and so assigned packages in packages.
I don't have much HP ServiceGuard experience but can someone explain to me how you can have packages in packages?
Maybe there is someone who can explain how can I discover the names of the packages defined in the cntl file?

Thanks in advance.
10 REPLIES 10
melvyn burnard
Honored Contributor

>The customer I am currently working on has declared mutliple Disk/IPs/subnets in the package controle file and so assigned packages in packages.

No, this is just a single package using multiple resources, as designed.
A package can have up to 200 relocatable IP addresses if I recall, or that may have been increased, and it can use multiple subnets.
It can use multiple Volume Groups, or Disk Groups

Their is no such thing as a package within a package.
My house is the bank's, my money the wife's, But my opinions belong to me, not HP!
Coen Meerbeek
Occasional Advisor

OK thanks for the quick reply.
So if I understand you correctly the match between IP and DNS name is only configured in the DNS server?
nijokj
Trusted Contributor

As melvyn's post there is nothing like package in package. cmviewcl -v will give you output of what are the packages running on cluster and the available resources. Your customer may be added some resource like IP ,volume,mountpoint. in package controlfile. each package will have a directory inside /etc/cmcluster/ directory. This dir wil contain pkg control and configuration file.
Ismail Azad
Esteemed Contributor

Hi Coen,