3886 Online
108838 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Verify connection between 1g and 10g switches

jerryroy1
Occasional Advisor

Verify connection between 1g and 10g switches

Hi All,

Can someone help me? I am new to HPE/Aruba switches and need to know some shortcuts

So how can I tell there is a trunk between my 1 gig and ten gig switches? All are HPE/Aruba. Last time I was at Data Center, I saw almost all ports are populated.

There are 6 10G switches, there is a "sync or stacking" cable between a group of two 10g switches (labeled DMZ), and another group of 4 more 10g (labeled DB). What is the cable actually called?

There are six 1 Gig switches and there is a sync/stacking cable between one group of three (DMZ) and the other group three (DB).

How can I confirm the 1 gig and 10g are connected to each other without being onsite? I have remote access and have been using the web interface. Can you please tell me an easy way from the cli how to validate I have a trunk between 1g and 10g switches that are carrying the same vlans?

I have six of these. 

HPE FF 5700-32XGT-8XG-2QSFP+ Switch JG898A

and 6 of these

HP A5500-24G-4SFP HI 

Thanks for your help!

2 REPLIES 2
jmpk
HPE Pro

Re: Verify connection between 1g and 10g switches

Hi @jerryroy1 

I understand that the word trunk you referring as VLAN trunking , not the Link-Aggregation (correct me if am wrong).

To veify the trunk carry same vlan you can check interface configuration "display current-configuraion Interface Tengig <Number> or you can check with "display vlan All/brief" 

"display lldp neighbor-information list" this command help you to check the LLDP information that the local device receives from the neighboring devices in the form of a list.

I work for HPEAccept or Kudo
parnassus
Honored Contributor

Re: Verify connection between 1g and 10g switches

Pay attention that IRF (virtual switch) could have been implemented too on those types of switch series...

I'm not an HPE Employee