New Discussion юеВ

EML library and Veritas Net backup

SOLVED
Go to solution
Vladimir Fabecic
Honored Contributor

EML library and Veritas Net backup

Hello
Excuse me for this question, but I am new in HP-UX.
Situation: There is a HP EML103E connected to fibre channel. It will be used for Veritas Net backup server which has to be installed on HP-UX machine (HP 9000).
How HP-UX has to be prepared for backup software installation?
What do I have to check and test to be be sure everithing is set OK for Veritas installation?
What device files has to be created for tapes and changer?
Is there something simular to TRU64 MRU robot software for HP-UX?
Thanks.
In vino veritas, in VMS cluster
9 REPLIES 9
Peter Godron
Honored Contributor

Re: EML library and Veritas Net backup

Vladimir,
altough I only help out with NetBackup problems, I have almost always found the info I needed at:
http://seer.support.veritas.com/

Good Luck.
AshishJain_USA
Frequent Advisor

Hi

I havn't ever used an HP Library. However, the steps for using any Tape Library on an HPUX system would be

1. Attach the Tape Library to your server ( Direct or through your SAN environment ).
2. Do an ioscan and insf -e
3. Install the robot / drive changer driver
4. Install any Tape drive specific drivers.

Once these are done, you may use the Netbackup Activity monitor or Veritas commands to configure the Robot and the drives and yes..... you may always look for support.veritas.com

rgds...Ashish
Vladimir Fabecic
Honored Contributor

Hello
I know that I have to attach library to SAN and configure NSR and zoning. No problem with that part. Also know that I have to do ioscan and insf -e ("ioscan -fnC tape" and "ioscan -fnC autoch") to see if server recognized library.
But how will I know if specific drivers for tape and changer are needed.
Do I have to install special drivers from HP or from Veritas.
Some links to documentation will be very helping.
AshishJain_USA
Frequent Advisor

Hi