Operating System - Linux
1752815 Members
5912 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Strange modprobe errors with module ip_tables of PAE kernel 2.6.18 on RHEL 5

Ralph Grothe
Honored Contributor

Strange modprobe errors with module ip_tables of PAE kernel 2.6.18 on RHEL 5

Hi,

kernel and OS release are as follows:

# uname -srvi
Linux 2.6.18-53.el5PAE #1 SMP Wed Oct 10 16:48:18 EDT 2007 i386

# cat /etc/redhat-release
Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.1 (Tikanga)

As can be seen the RHEL installer must have selected a kernel with Physical Address Extensions implemented because the physical memory of the box is 4 GB (I assume this to be the threshold criteria of the installer to select a PAE kernel?)
I don't beleive that the colleague who installed the OS on this box made this PAE choice deliberately.

# free -mo
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 4050 3971 78 0 137 3344
Swap: 2047 0 2047

I have no experience with PAE kernels from RedHat (or other distro),
because at home I don't have HW with that much memory, and on the other hand most of our other RHEL servers meanwhile use 64bit kernels.

What is annoying and kind of irritating are log entries in messages from failed modprobe invocations for loading of Netfilter modules such as these:

# grep modprobe /var/log/messages
Jul 4 08:49:12 somehost modprobe: WARNING: Error inserting x_tables (/lib/modules/2.6.18-53.el5PAE/kernel/net/netfilter/x_tables.ko): Operation not permitted
Jul 4 08:49:12 somehost modprobe: FATAL: Error inserting ip_tables (/lib/modules/2.6.18-53.el5PAE/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.ko): Operation not permitted
Jul 4 08:49:46 somehost modprobe: WARNING: Error inserting x_tables (/lib/modules/2.6.18-53.el5PAE/kernel/net/netfilter/x_tables.ko): Operation not permitted
Jul 4 08:49:46 somehost modprobe: FATAL: Error inserting ip_tables (/lib/modules/2.6.18-53.el5PAE/kernel/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_tables.ko): Operation not permitted