4881 Online
108795 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: security file

fergani
Advisor

security file

Hi everyone;
I am using tru64 unix v5.1 and I am a junior DBA.
I created a batch file inside the root directory , so I want certain users to have privileges to execute it only,but not to open it.

Do you think should I put this file inside root directory or inside the users directory who have the privileges to execute it only,but not to open it.

bye.
7 REPLIES 7
Martin Moore
HPE Pro

Access control lists might be the best solution for you. Do "man acl" for an introduction.

Martin
I work for HPE
A quick resolution to technical issues for your HPE products is just a click away HPE Support Center
See Self Help Post for more details

Accept or Kudo

Pieter 't Hart
Honored Contributor

I would suggest to keep the root directory clean.
Normally I would put own jobs like this
- at least in a subdirectory of the root (like /DBAprod)
- or even on a separate filesystem
- in your own home directory
- in a central DBAuser home directory
fergani
Advisor

Hi
I read the help of acl but there are many things I couldn't understand.
please could you provide my an example shown me How to get certain users to have privileges to execute a batch file only,but not to open it.

bye.
Pieter 't Hart
Honored Contributor

Instead of specifying each user in an acl it's more flexible to create two extra groups in /etc/group using "sysman groups".
eg. DBAexecute and DBAread (maybe also DBAowner)
add all appropriate users to the corresponding group.
set acl on the file with permissions.
"setacl -D -u group:DBAread:r--,group:DBAexecute:--x,group:DBAowner:rwx"

With standard unix protection you could also set the group of the file to DBAexecute
"chgrp DBAexecute" and set protection with chmod so the owner can read/write and the group execute.
"chmod u=rwx,g=x,o=" (o= now owner but other!)
fergani
Advisor

hi everyone
I need someone to explain me this statement:-