New Discussion юеВ

CS500, CS300 or EMC eXtremeIO

SOLVED
Go to solution
Roland Kudelic
Occasional Advisor

CS500, CS300 or EMC eXtremeIO

Hello

I'm new in the Nimble world. I have to decide between a CS300, CS500 and EMC eXtremeIO. We plan to use the new solution for the next 5 years.

Our environment is a vmware vSphere 5.5 on CX4-120. We have 4 RDM's for SQL Server, 1x RMD for Fileserver. The rest is on VMFS (70 VM's)

Main we use XenApp 6.5 and 7.6, no vmware view and xendesktop

Personally I prefer Nimble.

Which arguments could help me to decide for the right solution?

Kind regards

Roland

3 REPLIES 3
Nick_Dyer
Honored Contributor

Re: CS500, CS300 or EMC eXtremeIO

Hello Roland,

From the specifications you've listed I must admit I'd probably say that XtremIO would be massively over-specified - especially if you're running on a CS4-120 today!

Without posting competitive FUD against EMC I think it's fair to say that Nimble would give you a far better cost/GB before data reduction, is easier to scale system IOPS performance independent of capacity (and vice versa, all non-disruptively of course) and our software stack is robust and enterprise class - and no additional charge. Also the support / Infosight data analytics service we provide is nothing like what traditional vendors can offer.

Typically i'd say if you were comparing a Nimble CS300 vs XtremIO then one of us would be in the wrong room; a CS300 will provide 30,000 IOPS at an attractive price point vs an XtremIO system which could be north of 200,000 IOPS (with a price point to match).

Of course I'm bias as I work for Nimble, so i'd welcome comments from other posters / customers on their experiences and thoughts.

Nick Dyer
twitter: @nick_dyer_
edayeh69
Valued Contributor
Solution

Hi Roland,