BladeSystem - General
1753667 Members
5725 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Difficulty setting up network on HP c3000 (Shorty)

Greg Corlett

Difficulty setting up network on HP c3000 (Shorty)

I am trying to setup networking on a HP c3000 bladeserver enclosure. It has (3) BL465c G5 blades (Dual dual core 2.2Ghz Opterons, 16 GB RAM, NC326m Dual Port 1 GB Eth. card, QLogic QMH2462 4GB FC card) with (2) Cisco Catalyst Blades 3020 blades switches and (2) Brocade 4/12 SAN switches connected to a HP MSA 2000fc SAN with 12 300GB SAS drives. I have configured the Ciscos with five VLANs but the only network that I can connect to is the VLAN1 that I use for management. I have installed VMWare ESX server v3.5 on the blade in bay 1 but can only get it to see the management VLAN1 only. I am trying to setup two Cisco 3020's, one as a primary and the second one as a secondary switch for redundancy. This is my first try with blade servers and ESX server and I have been struggling with the networking for months. I have had two HP engineers here several times but this is not getting resolved. Bought the equipment in 6/08 and still have not got it up and going because of the networking. Any help or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.
3 REPLIES 3
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

Re: Difficulty setting up network on HP c3000 (Shorty)

First things first Greg...

You have a nice amount of hardware there and it should treat you nicely. The C3000 and blades that go with it are being used EVERYWHERE for virtualization. ;o)

That being said.. let's get some info...

How are your Cisco 3020's connected to your existing network? (Assuming you are installing this into an existing infrastructure).

How is your ESX server configured, networking wise? Can you supply a screenshot of the Networking screen in the VI Client?

Can you post diagram of how things are connected?

Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage, Servers, and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)