New Discussion юеВ

Firmware Update Problem

SOLVED
Go to solution
danobi
Frequent Advisor

Firmware Update Problem

Hi,

I have some BL460 G6 and I need to update their hard disk firmware. If I try to update it via VCA or directly with the CPxxxxx it tells me, that the hardware is not present on the system.
HP support told me to use the .scexe unter linux, but being a windows admin I do not know how to create a bootable and mountable virtual image.
HP told me to use the USB key utility to put the latest firmware dvd on an usb stick and then add the firmware scexe file.
I did that, but I cannot make the blade boot from the usb stick mounted via ILO.

So I created an .ima file of the usb stick by using winimage. ILO told me "invalid image". After that I created an iso image with mkisofs following this tutorial http://www.g-loaded.eu/2006/10/07/verify-a-burned-cddvd-image-on-linux/ - to no avail. It starts booting but then it stops with a checksum error.

I am really at wits end now and I hope anyone here can help me.

Many thanks in advance.
Daniela
19 REPLIES 19
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Firmware Update Problem

Download the latest firmware DVD image from hp.com.
Now you can boot directly from this via real or virtual DVD or use the USB stick creation tool from that DVD to create the USB (don't copy the files manually!).

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
danobi
Frequent Advisor

Thanks for the advice Torsten.
I am working with the latest 9.10b which does not include the firmware I need: HPD7 for EH0072FARUA.
I remember blurrily that there was a possibility to create bootable disk images from scexe files, but I cant find anything right now.
Joshua Small_2
Valued Contributor

Hi,

1: Make yourself a bootable USB or DVD based on the firmware in question.
2: Add the .scexe file for the firmware in question to the compaq\swpackages directory