1747993 Members
5367 Online
108756 Solutions
New Discussion

How to configure the Management module on p-series

ILOSupport
Occasional Contributor

How to configure the Management module on p-series

I am new to Blades even though I have 10 years working on HP servers. I am tasked with bringing online 4 older p-series Blade chassis, and I have been researching this, but so far I canâ t find the answer to the most basic questions â how to get the chassis managed. Of course there is no keyboard or monitor, and I think the thing to do is attach via iLO. But how to configure the iLO port? I donâ t have DHCP near where the chassis is, and I donâ t know if the management console is set to be a DHCP client anyway. Also I do not have the iLO username and password (these are second-hand servers).

I think I can also use System Insight Manager to manage the chassis, but how would that work? Would SIM connect through the iLO port?

Or maybe I can configure the iLO using SSH session, but how would I determine what commands and setting to use? I have done something similar on an Integrity series server. This blade management module seems to have a DB-9 connector, although it is covered up with a screwed-on cover.

I appreciate any insight into this, and am sorry to be asking such basic questions. I know that the p-series has been replaced by the c-class, and the majority of the documentation I can find is for the c-class.

Here is my possible solution â please comment:
1) Make a portable DHCP server with only maybe 2 addresses and connect it to the ILO port
2) See if I can connect via IP with iLO over http
3) If this works, see if I can login (unlikely) using username administrator
4) If this works, see if I can have SIM discover the iLO IP address and manage the chassis that way.

Does anyone know how to reset the factory password, and if so, how to find out what the factory password is? I donâ t see it listed anywhere on the hardware. Thanks

2 REPLIES 2
Matti_Kurkela