1752754 Members
4565 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: 3com baseline switch 2824 sfpplus interface

robinsoncrusoe

3com baseline switch 2824 sfpplus interface

I'm a newbie on switch's.

Is this switch has an interface(i saw on the product details).

How can i manage it?

For routers i write ip like 192.168.2.1 and see the router management interface. For this product?

7 REPLIES 7
kamilfn
Occasional Advisor

robinsoncrusoe

Thank you.

robinsoncrusoe

When i looked at the link you've given me the product is 3com baseline switch 2824.

I have that one too. But the one i ask is 3Com┬о Baseline Switch 2824-SFP Plus.

http://www.3com.com/products/en_US/detail.jsp?tab=features&pathtype=purchase&sku=3C16487

• A cable diagnostics tool allows the user to troubleshoot cabling problems through the convenience of a menu based Web-management interface

• This is the thing i want to learn. How can i access this interface?

This message was edited by robinsoncrusoe on 3-15-10 @ 2:30 AM
    kamilfn
    Occasional Advisor

My bad, you have right.

There are two options:

1: Ip address is somewhere on the switch (propably next to mac on the sticker) and will be like 169.x.x.x

2: You have to connect to switch using console cable and then set the ip address.

robinsoncrusoe

169.254.0.0. This is the ip address i found on the old forum topics.

When i try to connect, it says host is unreachable. Can connecting to switch with ip option be disabled? We have a Netasq F60 firewall, can this device prevent me from accessing to switch ui with that ip?

I didn't see nor a serial port neighter a usb port on the switch but i couldn't see well, the spaces between devices are very narrow. Now i'll go to the server room and try to take a better look.

As you see, i'm totally unexperienced about these devices. But i'll learn in time.