108758 Solutions
New Discussion

IRF between HP and Other OEM

RahulNair
Occasional Contributor

IRF between HP and Other OEM

Hi all ,

I am quite new to the HP Eco System .

I used to work with Cisco products for a long time .

I have an assoignment of conducting a POC for my client.Wherein , i need to establish an IRF Fabric ( with 5500 swicthes) and connect it to their native Entrasys Swicthes.

Now , i have gone through all the technical documentations about IRF , and it is pretty clear to me.

What i need to understand is how can i connect and IRF Fabric to  third party vendor swicth , in this case , ENTRASYS.

suppose i have three hp switches in the fabric and i need to run to two cables from each end , to an entrasys swictch.

Do i run stp in the fabric and allow it to converge with the Entrasys swicth ? Or

Do i run LACP between both the two ? If lacp , do i need to do anything else specifically , apart from the standard LACP procedures?

Thanks again ! 

5 REPLIES 5
dhoenel
Occasional Advisor

Re: IRF between HP and Other OEM

Hello quick and dirty,

you can't connect an HP IRF Supported Switch to a third party vendor.

enclosed a hp irf comp list

RahulNair
Occasional Contributor

Oh..

Ok.now i dont need to run IRF fabric on all swicthes .

Just the three HP Swicthes and then connect an uplink from it to the entrasys one.

Wont it work even in that case ?

IRF                          Trunk Link/LACP     

[ Sw-1   Sw-2   Sw-3] ----------------------------> Entrasys/Cisco/etc.

Logically 1 switch.

dhoenel
Occasional Advisor

Yes that works.
Important is, when you want configur a link-aggragatin (bound two ports together) use LACP on both sides. ON HP Switch and on Entrasys or CISCO
RahulNair
Occasional Contributor

OK..phew ..nice to know .
OK so if not for lacp ..I can even go for normal trunking to connect the two right ?..and the setup would work just like two logical switches connected to each other ..
Peter_Debruyne
Honored Contributor