1751691 Members
4836 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: VLAN Setup 3Com 4200G

sentin709

VLAN Setup 3Com 4200G

Hey Guys,

Im relatively new at setting up VLANS.... Well entirely new to be honest and ill do my best to explain what im trying to accomplish.

Currently we occupy 3rd floor (accounting and server room) 4th floor (engineering / Geologists) and 5th floor (corporate and Admins) Each floor has a telco room with a 4200g 48 port switch with a tie in to each floor.

In the server room we have an OpenBSD firewall operating which allows all traffic OUT and only certain traffic IN. The Main network has PDC and BDC and other various servers operating on 192.168.25.xx subnet.

What i need to do is on the 4th floor we have 2 independant machines being installed for FRAC viewing (in the Oil and Gas industry this is used to view an active Frac which are explosions via feed from HTTP source)

I wanted to designate 2 ports on the switch (which link into the 2 data ports in that room) to a different subnet. This would allow me to keep these computers segregated from the main network traffic.

The problem is im getting confused with how the wording is laid out in the Web interface.

So lets say i want to make the other 2 independant machines operate on the subnet 192.168.50.XX with the netmask of 255.255.255.248.

This would give me 6 IP address to work with (more than enough)

I know i would create a new VLAN which ive done and called it VLAN 2 .. I have assigned this VLAN the IP of 192.168.50.1. (not really sure how that plays into this) ive assigned ports 15 and 16 on the switch to Vlan 2.

Rather than go on and on about this maybe im going down the wrong path completely. Some insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.

Aaron

5 REPLIES 5
Fred_Mancen_1
Super Advisor

Hi, Aaron.