New Discussion юеВ

Re: Allocating all space on EVA 4400

SOLVED
Go to solution
st3reo
Occasional Contributor

Allocating all space on EVA 4400

Hello,

I'm kind of new to the SAN world and I would like some help please.

We have an EVA 4400 with 2 disk enclosures, each with 12 300GB 15k FC disks, so in total 24 disks.

I intend to use this array for virtualization with VMware ESX.
As I understand, the vmware best practice is to create a big disk to which all hosts have access, makes sense.
So in EVA I created a Vdisk using all the available space (in my case, as raid5 that ends up to 4909GB).
The disk is created ok but the problem is it triggers a warning that space allocation is above the alarm rate of 90%.

My question is...is it ok to leave it like this? Will there be any performance issues if I allocated all the space? should I leave some free?

Thanks,
6 REPLIES 6
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor
Solution

> a big disk disk

I highly doubt that this is 'best practice'. You have consolidated free space, but also limited all I/Os to one file system.
And there is no work for the second controller you paid for ;-)

Unfortunately, there is no single correct size for a datastore. I have customers with as low as 250 GB and as high as 800-1000 GB.

> ends up to 4909GB

You will find out that it does not work anyway, because the maximum size is 2 TeraBytes - 512 Bytes, so use 2047GB.

> alarm rate of 90%

That is only an information. If you don't make use of BC/CA you should leave at least 5 GigaBytes free, and make sure you have set the so-called "protection level" to single. The EVA does not use dedicate spare disks and the "protection level" reserves enough capacity in the disk group.
st3reo
Occasional Contributor

Thanks for your answer.

Yes, that was one of my main concerns, leaving the second controller unused.