HPE SimpliVity
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Snapshot of the OVC

 
SOLVED
Go to solution
Highlighted
Advisor

Snapshot of the OVC

I have noticed on multiple systems there is a snapshot in place on OVCs.

This seems to happen during the deployment phase. 

  • Have anyone else seen this?
  • Is it normal for this snapshot to exist?
  • Is it optimal, performance-wise for this snapshot to exist?

Thanks

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
HPE Pro
Solution

Re: Snapshot of the OVC

Hello @tonymcmillan 

Thank you for using HPE Simplivity Forums. 

I don't have a lot of information on this issue yet but it seems the snapshot is indeed getting created during deployment in version 4.0.1. There is a new function to retry the deployment in case of failure between steps 14 and 39 without the need of a complete fresh redeployment and the snapshot is not getting cleared properly in some cases. There shouldn't snapshots of the OVC and it is safe to remove it, but the OVC must be powered off first. 

Hope it helps.

I am an HPE employee
Accept or Kudo
Highlighted
Advisor

Re: Snapshot of the OVC

Gus,

Thank you for your reply. It makes sense why they do that. Glad to know it's safe to delete since it's a best practice to NOT leave snapshots running for any length of time. 

 

Best,

Tony

Highlighted
Advisor

Re: Snapshot of the OVC

Thank you, that worked.

We shutdown the OVC and removed the snapshot on each of our nodes. 

We have noticed on all three of our 4.0.1 deployments, snapshots are left in place on the OVCs. In the future, we will be looking for those and deleting them before putting these nodes into service.

Thanks again.