New Discussion юеВ

HPE-1950 Uplink Interface Failure Automatic swap

SOLVED
Go to solution
VegPro
Occasional Contributor

HPE-1950 Uplink Interface Failure Automatic swap

Hi! I am new in this forum.

I must say that I am not an expert in managed switches but not a beginner. So I need your expert help on this subject.

I have a question in regards to the HPE-1950-48G manage switch and uplink interface failure. I once was on a project and this IT person programmed a function that I would like to know how it was done. I must say, the switches were not HP. The function is like so: When a `Primary` Uplink failed on a switch, the switch automatically swapped to the other `Secondary` uplink. And when the Primary uplink came back to life, the switch automatically swapped it back to its primary uplink. It is very similar to a redundancy (Primary/Secondary) used on Servers but on switches Uplink interfaces. I do not know if the person was using a macro or other batch file.

First: Can HP-1950-48G do this?

Second: If yes, How?

Thank you all and kind regards

2 REPLIES 2
parnassus
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: HPE-1950 Uplink Interface Failure Automatic swap

Probably the magic word here (well...it's a feature) could be "Smart Link" (link redundancy + very fast reconvergence time < 100ms, see here)...for sure it was discussed in the Community in the past and, recently, as long as I recall, I discussed about it in a thread here which was related to a very similar request (primary uplink active and secondary uplink as standby *but* the primary link was a LAG and not just a single physical link as in your simpler case).